Labour Pains – Full list of elected Labour Party member resignations.

To lose one may be regarded as a misfortune; lose two or three looks like carelessness, to lose over thirty since the 2011 General Election is political suicide.

Five have have resigned or retired because of personal or work reasons. Some have resigned because they can smell the upcoming Labour ballot box apocalypse. Some have resigned the whip and others have sworn never to run for Labour again. Most have two things in common, unhappiness at Labour’s performance in Government and Eamon Gilmore. The List will be updated as more are likely to resign.

Clicking on a name will bring you to an article why the member resigned from the Labour Party.

Last updated 08/01/14 –  Cllr Jerry Mullally –  Mallow Town Council.

  1. Nessa Childers – Ireland East
  2. Colm Keaveney TD – Galway East.
  3. Patrick Nulty TD – Dublin West
  4. Róisín ShortallTD  – Dublin North West
  5. Tommy Broughan TD – Dublin North East
  6. Senator James Heffernan – Limerick
  7. Cllr. Sean O’Grady
  8. Cllr. Sean Cunniffe – Galway.
  9. Cllr. Thomas Redmond – Kildare
  10. Cllr. Damian Molyneaux – Kildare
  11. Cllr. Cian O’Callaghan – Fingal
  12. Cllr. Jenny McHugh – Meath
  13. Cllr. Ginger McLoughlin – Limerick
  14. Cllr. Tom Cashman – Cork County
  15. Cllr Gabrielle Egan
  16. Cllr. Bobby Fitzgerald – Tipperary
  17. Cllr. Noel Frawley – Kilkenny
  18. Cllr. Paul O’Shea – Clare
  19. Cllr. Aidan Pendlebury – County Cork
  20. Cllr. Darren Ryan – Tipperary
  21. Cllr. David Hynes – Wexford
  22. Cllr. Stephen Wrenn – Dublin City
  23. Cllr. Tom Fortune – Wicklow
  24. Cllr. Barry Nevin – Wicklow
  25. Cllr. Frank McBrearty – Donegal
  26. Cllr. Frank Fahy – County Cork
  27. Cllr. John Mulvihill – County Cork (Retired from politics)
  28. Cllr. Tommy Stokes – Longford
  29. Cllr. Peter Coyle – Fingal (Retired from politics)
  30. Cllr. Stephen Fitzpatrick – Dun Laoghaire Rathdown
  31. Cllr. Claire O’Regan – Dublin
  32. Cllr. Con Foley – County Cork
  33. Cllr Mae Sexton – Longford
  34. Mary Loftus – Galway
  35. Cllr. Bobby Dunphy – Wexford
  36. Cllr. Paddy Bourke – Dublin City
  37. Cllr Billy Bourke – Tipperary
  38. Jimmy O’Shaughnessy – Wicklow
  39. Cllr. Dermot Looney – South Dublin CC
  40. Cllr. Jerry Mullally – County Cork
  41. Cllr Gráinne Kilmurry – Fingal                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   

About Paul Duggan

Politics, humour, Liberal, Curmudgeon, Rogue. Creator and author of Irish Shades of Grey.
This entry was posted in Elections, Irish current affairs, Irish Politics and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Labour Pains – Full list of elected Labour Party member resignations.

  1. A few more that you’ve missed . Cllr McBreaty in Donegal, Claire O’Regan in Dublins North Inner City

  2. ouh says:

    Cllr Bobby Dunphy

  3. Pat. says:

    I think Cllr John Mulvihill’s son who sits on Cobh District Council might have left as well. He certainly said he will not be standing in elections next year.

  4. Anonymous says:

    rats leaving the sinking ship

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s